Tags

, , , ,

A while back…yes, I’ve been remiss in updating the blog. Please forgive me. So, a few  months ago I chanced upon Equinox Winery in the awesome Swift Street complex where El Salchichero, the legendary excellent butcher shop has a store front.

The sparkling wines were so delicious and the whites and reds dynamic that I just had to know more about the winemaker, Barry Jackson,  and his story. Here is that interview.

Equinox wines are varied and made with impeccable attention to the varietal. I encourage you to go taste their sparkling wines and their whites and reds and decide for yourself. I chose to feature two of my favorites below.

Equinox Bartolo 2008 MerlotBartolo 2008 Merlot

85% Merlot 15% Petit Verdot
Dark fruits, lavendar honey, good tannins,
Voluptuous wine

2001 Equinox Brut Resevve

 

 

2001 Brut Reserve
75% Chardonnay, 25% Pinot Noir
Trout Gulch Vineyard, Santa Cruz Mountains, Traditional Methode Champenoise Sparkling Wine, Aged nine years “en tirage”, 400 cases produced. Fabulous champange method wine, I could drink this high acid and flavorful wine all day and night. But that’s me.

Equinox Wine
427 Swift Street, Unit C
Santa Cruz, CA 95060

